Zitadel integration

I have been trying to integrate Zitadel idp as the identity provider for Openziti. This has been very challenging to say the least as I am new to both systems.

The goal is to have Zitadel "Service Users" (non interactive machine accounts), authenticate and be able to access Openziti protected api resources on the overlay network, without creating accounts inside Openziti.

For authorization the plan was to implement Openziti "Tags" and somehow associate to these tags via Zitadels "Metadata" for each user and see if this metadata could also be passed in the JWT.

It appears that this should be possible with Openziti trusting Zitadel as the External JWT signer, but I cant figure out how to get this trust set up. Am I off base here with the plan and my very basic understanding of the two systems?

Are there any guides or videos (ZitiTV?) on how to implement this beast of an integration?

I'm now at a point that I am willing to pay someone who knows more than me to get this set up...

Hi @alexrbct, I'll go take a look at Zitadel IdP and see what I think. Before getting too far into this though, one thing we need to figure out is whether you're writing your own applications or if you're trying to use our tunnelers.

We are adding IdP support to tunnelers on our roadmap, but it's not implemented quite yet. If you're interested in integrating an IdP with code, golang specifically, I can show you working examples right now.

"Service Users" could be either/or, so clarifying that one piece is important.

We are not using tunnelers, this is a background go application that is running on users workstations. "Service Users" are what Zitadel calls "machine users".

Well then we can get this done quickly, I'm sure!!!! :slight_smile: