Where to learn underlying principles and concepts?

I have a BCS and MSCS but want to refresh and upgrade my knowledge of the networking concepts and principles behind OpenZiti. Can anyone recommend some resources on Coursera or elsewhere?

Hi @nyck33, welcome to the community and to OpenZiti!

Sorry nobody has gotten back to you yet! Sometimes it's hard with all the things going on! We don't have a coursera or anything of that nature.

Here's a rundown of the things that I think would be useful to know and understand, relvant to OpenZiti:

• layer 3/4 of the OSI Model - OSI model - Wikipedia
  • the "what is" and "why" network segmentation
  • what a VPN is and how it works
  • public key infrastructure - Public key infrastructure - Wikipedia
  • what is zero trust and why are the ideas in zero trust gaining popularity
  • what is an OpenZiti controller and what its role is
  • what is an OpenZiti router and what its role is
  • what is an OpenZiti tunneling app, and what purpose does it serve
  • OpenZiti configurations (host.v1/intercept.v1) for use with tunneling apps
  • OpenZiti service policies (bind and dial)
  • What is application embedded zero trust and why it's a game changer

I think that's a lot of material to get through and if you get through all that, you should have a pretty good understanding of what OpenZiti is, what it does, and why. Hope that helps. Happy to hear from others in the community too if there are other thoughts.

2 Likes

I am still working through that list while watching Youtube videos. Having gone through the first Echo demo service example, I tried to divide up the instructions in that tutorial (that runs in Bash) into a client side and server side:

server side (Node app running that usually runs with npm start on localhost:3000` in which I tried to integrate the SDK but was told here: CJS server side example code? · Issue #71 · openziti/ziti-sdk-nodejs · GitHub that it's in development)