Have you (or anybody) been considering putting the controller on a blockchain?

I familiarize myself with the project for a few days now, It seems everything in it may be distributed pretty much, apart from the controller. So the natural question comes, how complicated is it to implement a controller on something like cosmos ecosystem, such that every private setup could rely on entirely distributed infrastructure with the backups natively solved and no single point of failure?

I have no experience with this but I know that controller HA is something, that's already available and being tested right now.

Correct: controller HA is real and will solve some centralization concerns, but using blockchain "wallets" as Ziti identities could solve another problem: onboarding.

The "onboarding problem" aka "bottom turtle problem" is that identity-driven systems need everyone to have an identity, which usually means creating a trust chain from some existing identity or transmitting a security token out-of-band.

Using a blockchain or similar identity-based system offers yet another way to create a trust chain. It's been experimented with before, and Ziti has some new features that are applicable, like "external ID."

Essentially, a Ziti external ID is metadata on a Ziti identity that can be used to map an external identifying document to a set of authorizations in Ziti.

The owner of the external identifier, like an email address that can be attested with OIDC, an SVID from Spire, or, potentially, a wallet address, can bootstrap a Ziti API session by proving they own the external identity, then fetch a client cert for mTLS with the Ziti edge (the on-ramp to the transport fabric).

2 Likes

Can you elaborate please what is HA and where should I look for a reference?

I will take a punt as many are on holiday today with 4th of July.