Policy Engines - OPA Integration?

Hi all. At OSSYS we’re working with Styra and Open Policy Agent (OPA).

Are there plans for integration with OPA? If not, how are policy definitions handled? Thanks.

Hi @andrewzah, welcome to the community!

Right now, I don’t know of any plans for OPA integration. It has definitely been something that has come up in the past and discussed, but I don’t think we’ve had enough reason/motivation/rationale to integrate with it. I’d be interested to know if there is something you’d use OPA for with OpenZiti, or if you’re just wondering “in general”?

I think @andrew.martinez is probably the best person to provide additional details if there are any to share. Thanks again for the question and welcome.

Full disclosure - I’m an OPA/policy engine newbie.

From my understanding, OPA/Rego lang give us sophisticated control over user authorization, via policy decoupling. A typical example is managing access to REST apis.

For us, right now we’re connecting OPA to Trino to manage what schemas authenticated users can query, but we plan on using OPA for much more across our cluster.

Been tracking OPA for quite a while, and while it is interesting, there are a few technical hurdles that call into question how such a thing would be accomplished. I haven’t revisited this topic in the better part of a year - so I will try my best to recall what the previous version of me thought. I am also not on top of the most recent OPA developments. Please correct me where possible.

That said, it seems unlikely at this point. However, that is a weakly held position. If you want more in-depth reasoning about this topic, see below.

There are a few ways that OPA could be integrated into OpenZiti

• Internal Integration - Embed OPA into OpenZiti (via their GoLang library)
  • External Integration - Allow an OPA instance to be referenced for policy

Internal Integration