Securing a bunch of Machines

Hello,

I’ve a bunch VPSs where my applications are running, these VPSs needs to communicate between each others.

As I’m not a security expert, I was browsing the internet to find a way to secure the access to these VPS and I found Ziti :smiley:

After reading the documentation and this guide, I’m feeling kinda overwhelmed, and I don’t really know where to start.

From what I’ve understood, I need to :

• Setup the OpenZiti Network on a separate machine
  • Setup an edge router to serve as a Tunnelers on all my other machines
  • Create an identity for myself (to be capable of accessing my servers)
  • Create an identity for the ansible controller machine
  • Create an identity for every machine
  • Create an intercept and a host config for myself and all my machines
  • Create a service to associate all my intercept and host configs
  • Create service policies to allow my VPSs to dial and bind each others

Can you please correct me if am wrong ?

Hi @arslane, welcome to OpenZiti! You’re in the right place for secure communication!

Looks to me like you nailed it with your outline. Don’t feel overwhelmed :slight_smile: we can take it one step at a time together and we’ll get you there.

Step 1 - provision an OpenZiti network. It doesn’t need to be a separate machine - all the devs run an OpenZiti network locally all day long. Having a separate machine is nice, particularly if it’s internet addressable (VPS) since it will allow all the other devices to connect into it.

Step 2 - Yes, you must have at least one edge router. You can make more but for starters, one will be plenty. The ‘host it anywhere’ quickstart will get you through step one and two (hopefully) quickly and easily. You can follow the guide and you can watch me do it on a video if you like