How to build an openziti installer, or create an exe file?

Hi, I am new to openziti. I am trying to find out how to build an installer, or alternatively, create an exe file for Windows that I can give to non technical people to put on their computers. (I am okay with building from source code, but not everyone that I work with are software developers.)

Maybe I am not understanding the question… would not the Ziti Desktop Edge for Windows provide this? Releases · openziti/desktop-edge-win · GitHub

My colleagues and I have forked the branch, as we are adding our own features. I would like to be able to create the exe and sha files from our fork of openziti. I haven’t been able to find working instructions on how to create the exe and sha files.

Nice! Welcome to the community @thelouiselawrence .

I checked this file, it looks like it is still accurate desktop-edge-win/BUILDING.md at release-next · openziti/desktop-edge-win · GitHub

Basically you need to:

• build the service
  • Build the ui / upgrade agent (you might want to eliminate this, or change it for your own environment)
  • Assemble the installer

Take a look at the .bat files inside the service folder and the .PS1 file inside the installer folder.

We use a product called advanced installer to build the install bundle. You’ll also have to discover how we are signing our install files, which is… Maybe something to learn. It might be the hardest thing to work through if you’re not familiar.

Feel free to ask me questions about that process once you check that stuff out.

Welcome to OpenZiti!

I got that all working. Thank you.

I am now trying to figure out how to sign the install bundle. I am not familiar with that process.