OpenZiti configuration files

Hello,

I’m working on OpenZiti Ansible community collection, I’ve already made a role to download OpenZiti components from github (Core binaries, Edge-tunnel & console)

Today, I’ve started working on the Ziti Components Install & configuration part and I’ve a few questions :

1. As I’m not an Ansible expert, I was wondering If i should do this using custom modules or stick with roles and develop modules only for the CLI part (adding new identity, etc)
  2. On the github repository there are few configuration yaml files for both the controller and router, when should I use which config file ? I mean for the controller, we have ctrl.with.edge.yml, ctrl.yml, ctrl2.yml and ctrl3.yml. For router we have router.yaml, edge.router.yml and edge.router_wss.yml
    2.1 Should I use ctrl.with.edge.yml when I setup an edge router in the same host as the controller ?
    2.2 What’s the difference between ctrl.yml, ctrl2.yml and ctrl3.yml ?
    2.3 Is router.yaml used for Fabric routers ?
    2.4 edge.router_wss.yml that means that the edge router be WS-Security enabled ?

Regards,
A.B

I mean, doest it make any sense to have a controller running without edge enabled ? How clients will be authorized in this scenario ?

The various config files are there for reference. We don’t make any substantial recommendations in those files. The quickstart config that is generated is slightly more complex as it uses 3 different CAs for the three separate sections (controller, edge-controller, identity enrollment).

I’m not quite sure what you’re asking but in my opinion, you shouldn’t have a controller running “without edge”. I personally don’t consider the “non-edge” controller to be something that’s worth spending time on when learning OpenZiti.

1 Like

What I'm trying to do is to setup a Ziti Network manually, without using the quickstart.

My goal is to understand how the different OpenZiti components fit together and how to configure those separately.