SSH over ziti tunnel hangs often

Howdy folks - I’ve been a programmer and general admin for a long time, including network programming for parts of it, but I’m new to OpenZiti and zero-trust in general, so bear with me if I get some of the terminology slightly wrong (or very wrong).

I have the following set up, all using the Open Source stuff (I’m not using NetFoundry paid anything). I set up the first part (db service tunneling) under the guidance of an OpenZiti expert, then I added in the next part (ssh tunneling) myself.

• macOS Ziti Desktop Edge 2.24 (458) (2 machines)
  • 2 device identities, 1 user identity (default admin), 1 router identity
  • one edge router, installed on a digitalocean “cpu optimized” 2vcpu 4gb ram machine which runs a few other small services, all “non production” stuff not getting much traffic
  • controller v0.27.2 ZAC: 2.5.1 running on same DO machine
  • 3 Services: a DB on another machine on the DO private network, SSH on another machine on the DO private network, and SSH on the “localhost” of the edge router machine
  • “magic” DNS so I ssh and psql to a ziti-only hostname on my macOS machines

I use all that to connect from my laptop (one of the two device identity machines) to the database on the private network (postgres), and to the two SSH servers (one of which is also available on the public internet, but I go through the tunnel).